RSS

Lily Tunic Sweater

26 Jun
Lily Tunic Sweater

Hello everybody,

Here I am, as promised with another finished project. I bought this pattern on Etsy but you can also buy it from the designer’s website itself here. I had originally bought it to turn it into a dress but eventually I decided to keep it as a tunic. Funnily enough, I haven’t really had a chance to wear it anywhere yet!

I absolutely adore the front design. It was slightly difficult to understand how to do the front pleats but eventually I figured it out; however, I’m not entirely happy with the result because it’s not folded exactly like in the pattern and I do still need to steam block those pleats.

Nevertheless, one other feature I love about this sweater is the bind off. It’s called an i-cord bind off and it is a bit similar to the Vikkel braid which has opened me up to the idea of  sideways stitches knitted horizontally. This can be used as a basis for a cable pattern worked horizontally instead of vertically as is usual. I have recently been trying to find some tutorial for a horizontal cable pattern but it’s not that common. It’s not impossible but it’s still very uncommon. Anyway, that is something for a future post so…moving on…

If you’ve looked at the original pattern photos in the link above, I changed it slightly by making the sleeves longer. I used a DK wool so this will only be practical to wear during winter and since it’s quite a casual looking sweater, I would definitely use it as an everyday item of clothing, which means long sleeves are the way to go in winter.

Like I said, though, I haven’t had a chance to wear it yet. Probably because I’m not too sure about the texture of the sweater. Perhaps I need to add a wide belt around the waist, I don’t know. Here is the result:

CIMG2903

If you have any ideas and/or opinions about this tunic sweater, let me know in the comments below or on the Facebook page.

In the meantime, take care and have a great week! ❤

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 26, 2017 in Finished projects

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
